top of page


Our Chapter History

  • Chapter of the Year Spirit of Excellence: 2010-2011

  • Spirit of Excellence Awards for Communications: 2009-2010

  • Membership Growth: 2009-2010, achieving an astounding 38% membership increase in one year.

  • Spirit of Excellence in Programs and Education: 2008-2009

  • Membership Growth: 2007-2008, achieving an astounding 171% membership increase in one year.

  • Spirit of Excellence Awards for Communications: 2006-2007

Chapter Awards + Milestones

The ILEA Rhode Island Chapter was founded in 2002 to join professionals in fostering enlightened performance through education and promotion of the special events industry. A Chapter Formation Committee led by Chair Richard Carbotti, was created consisting of a dedicated group of ILEA members committed to establishing ILEA Rhode Island. After successfully recruiting the required 35 members and adhering to all guidelines, ILEA Rhode Island became an official Chapter-In-Formation and later an official chapter in 2004, which has been led to date by dedicated and passionate presidents, boards, members and volunteers.

Fast forward to 2020, a global pandemic. Since then ILEA Rhode Island has been working tirelessly to rebuild the chapter and come back stronger than ever. This is a new era and time for ILEA Rhode Island. We're here to shake up old traditions, bring in new ideas, and truly showcase all that Rhode Island has to offer the hospitality industry. 

Interested in learning more? Please reach out to President-Elect Michael Weishaus here for more information.

Giving Back to the Community

To date, ILEA RI has contributed more than $26,000 to a diverse mix of non-profit organizations. A special thanks goes to our members and strategic partners as this would not be possible without their support and contributions.


  • 2004-2006: Richard Carbotti

  • 2006-2007: Rick Simone

  • 2007-2008: Jim Verity

  • 2008-2009: Rocky Toomey

  • 2009-2010: Kim Crawley

  • 2010-2011: Alexis Gorriaran

  • 2011-2012: Bryan Sawyer

  • 2012-2013: Filomena Felix

  • 2013-2014: Donna Wing

  • 2014-2015: Jenny Demeter


  • ​2015-2016: Megan Duclos

  • 2016-2017: Jennifer Gullins

  • 2017-2018: Debbie Cormier

  • 2018-2019: Kimberly Doell

  • 2019-2020: Meaghan Peter

  • 2020-2021: Emily Manocchio

  • 2021-2022: Allison Pangakis

  • 2022-2024: Luke Renchan

  • 2024-2025: Michael Weishaus

Past Chapter Presidents

bottom of page